Search This Blog

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Tiger Queen GIVEAWAY

Tiger Queen

Title: Tiger Queen
Author: Annie Sullivan
Publisher: Blink YA Books

Release Date: September 10th, 2019
Print Length: 336 pages  

Genre: Young Adult Fiction -- Fantasy, Retelling, Romance
Edition: Advance Reader Copy | ebook via Netgalley
I received an ebook copy of this novel from the publisher via Netgalley. All opinions are my own, I agreed to a review as part of the FFBC book tour, it does not have to be a positive review.

Follow along: TOUR SCHEDULE


Synopsis:

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.



But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

If you like this you may also enjoy






Main Characters

  • Princess Kateri- has been training for a decade to win a tournament and become Queen
  • Rodric- captain of the guard, King's right hand man, Kateir's trainer
  • Cion- leader of the Desert Boys, a gang of outlaws that killed Kateri's mother
Dynamic: enemies to lovers

Plot

Princess Kateri's sole ambition in life is to use her training to win her tournaments against potential suitors and earn her right to be the next Queen. At age 16 she has to battle one suitor each month. If she loses, she must marry the victor. If she wins, the suitor is banished to the desert and she goes on fighting until she wins all 12 battles ending on her 17th birthday.

10 years ago Kateri's mother was killed by a gang called the Desert Boys who still torment the kingdom stealing water from the wells in an already drought ridden kingdom. Once Kateri is named Queen, she plans on taking out the Desert Boys and figuring out how to bring water back to the kingdom. When the final suitor is revealed and she knows its a battle she won't be able to win, she is desperate to do anything to win her title and help her kingdom even if it means seeking out the enemy for more training .

Setting

 desert kingdom of Achra, formerly an oasis but not 10 years in a drought. 




ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).

Follow the Author: Website | TwitterInstagram


Theme

men vs women

What did I like about the book?

I liked the main character thought she was in the top 3 for the best warrior. She knew her strengths and limitations and sought guidance from someone more skilled than her. Along the way she learned more than her sheltered palace life and truly had a heart for the people.

Spending time with the Desert Boys she was able to change her perspective, lighten up, and really understand what her mother had wanted from her.

I had never heard of the short story 'The Lady, or the Tiger?' until I read Tiger Queen so I looked it up. I really enjoyed the premise of choosing your destiny/consequence behind a door and that coming over into this story.

LOVE standalone books! This story has a clear and satisfying ending which makes me happy- no waiting to know the ending.
I threw up my arms. “And what do I need to know about this game?”
“It teaches you to hone your reflexes and keep different opponents in sight.”
I put my hands on my hips. “I meant, what are the rules?”
He smiled. “It only ends when you get the bag from us.”

What did I not like about the book?

The princess was raised under lies and tormented to make her hard. This seems to be a reoccurring theme (in Throne of Glass series, Daughter of the Pirate King, ect) where girls are raised up to be warriors and have to prove themselves physically the victor. Why does training seem to equal abuse?

The characters and the story were all VERY predictable. I started telling my daughter the beginning of the story and she was able to guess the entire thing (with the exception on Kateri's handmaiden).

There was a LOT of sand description. Rough texture, dry, ever changing/shifting, ect. Although I did enjoy sand games and ritual descriptions I didn't like the CONSTANT reminder the setting was in the dessert- I understand that.

Date Started/Finished : August 27th-30th, 2019 


GIVEAWAY

Prize: Tiger Queen poster and signed bookplate (USA only)
Starts: 9/4/19
Ends: 9/13/19




Recommend? maybe

If you enjoy retellings in general, or are new to YA books, or really like books set in the dessert- then you'll enjoy this story. If you don't like reading about all the common tropes thrown together in a single book, little character growth, and predictability- I'd pass on this.
Reason for Reading – Requested from Netgalley/ on tour with Fantastic Flying Book Club
Story – 3 out of 5 Stars
Romance – 3 out of 5 Stars- very slow burn
Would Read More from Author? probably
Recommend To – Desert Fantasy lovers

Rating: 3/★★★★★
based off Goodreads' ratings: 3 stars – liked it, average read. The story was what I was expecting.


Tiger QueenTiger Queen by Annie Sullivan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

FOLLOW ME ON GOODREADS!

View all my reviews




I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Disclosure: This book was provided to me at no cost. Whether positive or negative, my blog review is my own and may differ from others opinions. This review is simply a compilation of my thoughts and opinions of this book.  If you have any questions, just post them and I'll be happy to answer as best as I can. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
**No monetary compensation was received for this review. Posts may contain affiliate or referral links. Thank you for your support!**

No comments:

Post a Comment